Head-to-Toe Assessment Checklist

2016-02-28

When I began my med-surg placement, I was asked to complete thorough head-to-toe assessments on each patient. As a novice student, I found it very difficult to remember what I needed to assess for each body system. This led me to create the brief head-to-toe assessment checklist!

This document is two pages long and one of the best resources to keep in your clinical binder. During clinicals, I printed it on both sides of a single sheet, attached it to a clipboard, and took it with me to my patient’s room. I would refer to it during my assessment and at the very end to make sure I didn’t miss anything. You can also laminate this sheet and use it with an erasable whiteboard marker so you don’t have to keep printing more each week.

I hope you find this resource useful as you begin your med-surg placements!

Click HERE to download the Head-to-Toe Assessment Checklist!

 

Leave a Reply

